The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

ladies

 

464 pages
Expected publication: October 2nd 2018 by Katherine Tegen Books
Thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher for the chance to review this e-arc.
Truthfully, I thought I didn’t like Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue after I read it. A few days went by and it sunk it that, I really did enjoy it more than I thought I did. Thus, I had to read this one, and I was not disappointed. Only I realized I loved it as I was reading it.
This centers around Felicity Montague who wants so badly to become a doctor in a time when women were not allowed in such fields. Her tenacity leads her to Germany where she plans to procure a job with a famous doctor who just so happens to be marrying her former childhood best friend, Johanna.
This book navigates not only the misogyny of the times but also racism. Felicity enlists the help of an Algerian Muslim pirate named Sim and soon enough find themselves on an adventure. Along with Johanna, Felicity finds herself int he most precarious situations all while rejecting the notion that women are lesser to men and even explores character’s like Johanna who argues that she can like pretty dresses and shoes and still be intelligent. Felicity learns about her own prejudices and grows as she tries to find her place in the world.
There were so many moments where I laughed out loud, which rarely happens. I was also nervous the whole time for Felicity and what other hijinks she was going to get herself into. The fact that Lee made Felicity aromantic was also so exciting. I mean, everything about this book was exciting and a breath of fresh air.
This may be one of the best books I have read in 2018, and my count is currently at 166, so those are crazy odds.

Leave a comment